Welcome to Earls Colne Primary School and Nursery
Welcome to Earls Colne Primary School and Nursery

Pupil's Contribution to our school

We aim to encourage children to make a positive contribution to society and believe that we can develop that responsibility within the school community.

We involve children and value their viewpoint on many aspects of school life. The Year 6 pupils act as 'buddies' to our very youngest children reading and playing with them.


This is extremely beneficial for both age groups.


As children move through the school and mature they are given additional responsibilites such as being elected House Captain, Student Council member or appointed as Assembly or lunchtime monitor and playleaders.

House Captains

The school has four 'Houses':  De Vere (Blue), Hunt (Green), Josselin (Red) and Scillitoe (Yellow).  The names all have local associations.

All the children are assigned a house (siblings will be in the same one) and they can be awarded house points for good work, kindness, exceptional behaviour, sporting achievements and so on.

Each week, the House Captains (a Year 6 boy and girl from each house) collect the points and annnounce the results in Friday's assembly.  The winning colours are attached to a cup which is displayed in the school reception area.

The House Captains stand for election at the beginning of the school year by making a presentation to the rest of the year group who then vote for thier choice.


The House Captains for 2017 - 2018 are: 


Scillitoe - Abigail Heaney & Eva Marshallsay Clarke

Hunt - Logan Pitt & Eva Canton

De Vere - Arthur Mackman & Lilly-Mae Cain

Josselin - Millie Castell & Erin Parry-Jones

Student Council

We have a School Council which meets regularly to discuss matters that are important to the children.  Any issues raised can be taken to Mrs Vine or the Governors for consideration.

There are two representatives from each class, voted for by their classmates and the representatives elected this year are TBC:


Tigers:   Sophie Lenney & George Swinbourne

Lions:    Isaac Boatman & Daisy Parsons

Giraffes:  Abigail Phillips & Toby Wiseman

Zebras:  Holly Shaw & Sean Hood

3/4FR:   Jodie Tubby & Mason Springall 

3/4MN:  Neve Parry-Jones & James Sapsford

3/4SE:   Lexi Whymark-Dicker & Brody Pitt

5/6KT:  Harriet Trustrum & Fletcher Walls

5/6SY:    Katie Vincent & Jayden Bishop

5/6AW:  Maddie Nel & Luca McCracken

Click the link below to access ParentPay.

Click here to find out about our amazing Fireworks Display.  We raised a whopping £6758 for our school.

Contact Us

Earls Colne Primary School & Nursery

Park Lane

Earls Colne



Tel: 01787 222205

Fax: 01787 222010


Melanie Vine



Christine Tucker

Admin Officer





Print Print | Sitemap
© Earls Colne Primary School & Nursery